Himachal Pradesh (Dev Bhoomi of India)

Himachal Pradesh - The Land of the Gods
Blessed with blessings of Mother Nature, Himachal Pradesh is famous for its Himalayan landscapes and popular hill-stations. This is situated on the River Beas and popularly known as “Dev Bhoomi” that literally means "Land of the Gods". Himachal Pradesh is a beautiful northern jewel snuggle in the Himalayas and border with Tibet (east), Jammu and Kashmir (north), Punjab (west), the land boasts diverse tropical bio-diversity and social life.

Brief History of Himachal Pradesh
In early period, In Himachal Pradesh region was called 'Deva Bhoomi', various tribes like the Koilis, Halis, Dagis, Dhaugris, Dasa, Khasas, Kinnars and Kirats settled. The name itself clarifies that it is the lap of snow, the area was influenced by the Aryans before the Rig Veda. Later somewhere around 833 AD the region was also influenced by the king of Kashmir Sankar Varma, Mahmud Ghazni invaded through this region and looted the wealth from the temples of North India. The region is also known for the ruling territory of Rajputs, who ruled in this territory somewhere around 1043 AD. The natural beauty of the region emphasized the Mughals Emperors to have their attention towards the region which lead in the emergent of several work of arts.

Rajputs underneath Sansar Chand possessed this region in 1773 AD to till the attack by Maharaja Ranjit Singh in 1804 which packed down the Rajput power here. The people who migrated from Nepal called Gurkhas captured this area and devastated it. After the Gurkha War of 1815-16, in 19th century the British exercised their influence and annexed the areas of Shimla. In 1948, it became a centrally administered territory with the integration of 31 hill states and established additional regions added to it in 1966.

Rivers, Districts and Languages of Himachal Pradesh
The capital of Himachal Pradesh is Shimla which boasts of old world charm and monuments. Generally Hindi, English, Pahari languages are spoken in Himachal Pradesh and has 12 districts named as Bilaspur, Chamba, Hamirpur, Kangra, Kinnaur, Kullu, Lahaul-Spiti, Mandi, Shimla, Sirmaur, Solan and Una. Chenab, the Ravi, the Beas, the Sutlej and the Yamuna are the major river systems of the region. These rivers are fed by snow and rainfall, protected by a fairly extensive cover of natural vegetation.